Virtual Tour - Historical Sites
Formerly called La Vigie, Fort George was part of a complex of fortifications, the building of which began in 1804 under the direction of the then British Governor, Brigadier-General Sir Thomas Hislop. The fortifications consisted of sea defenses and a series of supporting batteries: the York, Princess Charlotte, Abercromby and Cambridge on the lower slopes and the Cumberland to the North above the Fort. Considered impregnable, it was the major defensive position in the island, but never to experience military action.
In times of rumours of war, the merchants of Port of Spain would store their records and valuables at the fort. Fort George ceased to be a military establishment in 1846. A signal station was established there and continued operation until November 1964.
This signal station, built about 1883, was designed by Prince Kofi Nti, son of King Kofi Calcali of Ashantee, West Africa. He arrived in Trinidad on 1st July 1881, having become a ward of the British Government after a war against the Ashantees in 1872. A major restoration of the building took place in 1965, three years after Trinidad gained its independence.